Products‎ > ‎Mental Ability Tests‎ > ‎


DTLA–4™Detroit Tests of Learning Aptitude       

The DTLA-4 is one of the oldest and most respected tests that evaluate specific mental abilities of individuals ages 6 to 17. The test includes interpretation in terms of current theories of intelligence. The DTLA-4 is the test of choice for professionals interested in a thorough investigation of an individual's specific cognitive functions. The DTLA-4 measures basic abilities, and shows the effects of language attention, and motor abilities on test performance.

How to Use the Assessment
The DTLA-4 is administered using a series of picture books, design sequence cubes and sequence chips. In total, the assessment includes 10 subtests and the results of the subtests can be combined to form 16 composites that measure both general intelligence and discrete ability areas. This comprehensive and thorough assessment takes anywhere from 40 minutes to 2 hours to administer.

The following subtests are included in the DTLA-4: Word Opposites, Design Sequences, Sentence Imitation, Reversed Letters, Story Construction, Design Reproduction, Basic Information, Symbolic Relations, Word Sequences, and Story Sequences. The subtests are easily assigned to composites that represent major popular theories such as Horn and Cattell's fluid and crystallized intelligence, Jensen's associative and cognitive levels, Das' simultaneous and successive processes, and Wechsler's verbal and performance scales.

The assessment is handscored using easy to follow response booklets. Reports and scoring can be generated using the convenient Windows comparative software scoring package.

Scales & Forms:
  • Word Opposites
  • Reversed Letters
  • Basic Information
  • Story Sequences
  • Design Sequences
  • Story Construction
  • Symbolic Relations
  • Sentence Imitation
  • Design Reproduction
  • Word Sequences